An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

AFRC announces 2015 Chaplain Corps awards

  • Published
Air Force Reserve Command has announced the 2015 Air Force Reserve Chaplain Corps awards.

Headquarters Air Force Chaplain Corps Awards:

Thoralf T. Thielen Award for the Outstanding Reserve Chaplain of the Year, Chaplain (Capt.) Quanika Bynum, 42nd Air Base Wing/HC, Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama.

Citizen Airman Award for the Outstanding Reserve Chaplain Assistant of the Year, Chaplain Assistant Tech Sgt. Ralph Lopez, 502nd ABW/HC, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, Texas.

AFRC Individual Awards for Excellence:


Category A/Traditional Reservist, Chaplain (Capt.) Matthew Ellis, 349th Air Mobility Wing/HC, Travis, AFB, California.

Category B/Individual Mobilization Augmentee, Chaplain (Capt.) Matthew Spencer, 325th Fighter Wing/HC, Tyndall AFB, Florida.

Chaplain Assistants:

Category A/TR, Tech Sgt. Sergeant Elliott Denney, 944th FW/HC, Luke AFB, Arizona.

Category B/IMA, Master Sgt. Andy Koundourakis, 20th FW/HC, Shaw AFB, South Carolina.

AFRC unit awards:

AFRC Outstanding Chaplain Corps Program Award, 459th Air Refueling Wing/HC, Joint Base Andrews, Maryland.

AFRC Chaplain Ministry of Presence Award, 507th Air Refueling Wing/HC, Tinker AFB, Oklahoma.

AFRC Chaplain Corps Readiness Award, 920th Rescue Wing, Patrick AFB, Florida.