HomeNewsArticle Display

Aircrew accepts Air Force awards for heroic act

WASHINGTON -- Members of an Air Force Reserve Command aircrew received national recognition Sept. 12 for avoiding disaster over Iraq in October 2004.

After Maj. Rolf W. Breen and his crew were awarded the Air Force Association’s 2004 Reserve Aircrew Award, they accepted Distinguished Flying Crosses from Air Force senior leaders at the annual AFA convention in Washington.

The other award recipients are Capt. Jason M. Schroeder, co-pilot; Lt. Col. John E, Loranger, navigator; Master Sgt. James Grigsby and Tech. Sgt. Robert Sczesny, loadmasters; and Staff Sgt. Daniel J. Hayes, flight engineer.

Acting Secretary of the Air Force Pete Geren, Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. T. Michael Moseley; and AFRC Commander Lt. Gen. John A. Bradley presented the DFCs.

The crew from Milwaukee’s 440th Airlift Wing saved not only themselves and their multimillion dollar airplane but also 57 Soldiers on board the C-130 after it was hit by enemy ground fire. (AFRC News Service)